The Call Me Ishmael Phone Book: An Interactive Guide to Life-Changing Books (Paperback)

The Call Me Ishmael Phone Book: An Interactive Guide to Life-Changing Books Cover Image
$20.00
Available online. Call stores for local availability.
Sebastopol
On hand as of May 7 2:40am
(FICTION TRADE)
Calistoga
On hand as of May 7 2:40am
(FICTION TRADE)
Montgomery Village
On hand as of May 7 2:45am
(ESSAYS/SHORT STORIES/ANTHOLOGY)
Petaluma
On hand as of May 7 2:45am
(FICTION TRADE)
Napa
On hand as of May 7 2:45am
(FICTION TRADE)
Healdsburg
On hand as of May 7 2:45am
(WRITING REFERENCE)
San Rafael
On hand as of May 7 2:45am
(FICTION TRADE)

Description


For fans of My Ideal Bookshelf and Bibliophile, The Call Me Ishmael Phone Book is the perfect gift for book lovers everywhere: a quirky and entertaining interactive guide to reading, featuring voicemails, literary Easter eggs, checklists, and more, from the creators of the popular multimedia project.

The Call Me Ishmael Phone Book is an interactive illustrated homage to the beautiful ways in which books bring meaning to our lives and how our lives bring meaning to books. Carefully crafted in the style of a retro telephone directory, this guide offers you a variety of unique ways to connect with readers, writers, bookshops, and life-changing stories. In it, you’ll discover...

-Heartfelt, anonymous voicemail messages and transcripts from real-life readers sharing unforgettable stories about their most beloved books. You’ll hear how a mother and daughter formed a bond over their love for Erin Morgenstern’s The Night Circus, or how a reader finally felt represented after reading Gene Luen Yang’s American Born Chinese, or how two friends performed Mary Oliver’s Thirst to a grove of trees, or how Anne Frank inspired a young writer to continue journaling.

-Hidden references inside fictional literary adverts like Ahab’s Whale Tours and Miss Ophelia’s Psychic Readings, and real-life literary landmarks like Maya Angelou City Park and the Edgar Allan Poe House & Museum.

-Lists of bookstores across the USA, state by state, plus interviews with the book lovers who run them.

-Various invitations to become a part of this book by calling and leaving a bookish voicemail of your own.

-And more!

Quirky, nostalgic, and full of heart, The Call Me Ishmael Phone Book is a love letter to the stories that change us, connect us, and make us human.

About the Author


Logan Smalley is the founding director of TED’s youth and education initiative, TED-Ed—an award-winning website, content format, and program offering that serves millions of teachers and students every day. Prior to working for TED, Logan was selected as a TED Fellow for his roles as director, editor, and composer of the nonprofit, feature-length film, Darius Goes West (28 film festival awards, 2007). Logan is also a cofounder of CallMeIshmael.com—a creative, participatory literary initiative that was an honoree for the National Book Foundation’s Innovations in Reading Prize in 2015. Logan began his career as a special education teacher in his hometown of Athens, Georgia, and he currently lives and works in New York City. He holds a BEd in special education from the University of Georgia, and an EdM in technology innovation and education from the Harvard Graduate School of Education.

Stephanie Kent is a writer and multimedia producer. Her recent work includes the Webby Award–winning Masters of Scale podcast, The Wall Street Journal’s premiere mobile-first news app, and a series of book reviews for Boxing Insider. During her time on staff at TED, Steph built community programs and brand engagement strategies. She was awarded a 2017 Creative Community Fellowship with National Arts Strategies Foundation and holds a BA in playwriting and literature from Emerson College. Stephanie writes a weekly newsletter on creativity, and is a competitive boxer. You can find her online at StephKent.com.

Praise For…


PRAISE FOR THE CALL ME ISHMAEL PHONE BOOK: 

The Call Me Ishmael Phone Book is one of the most ingenious ideas for a book I’ve learned about this year… a neat concept [that] should appeal to avid readers everywhere… Check out The Call Me Ishmael Phone Book for some interactive fun with books.” —Seattle Book Review

“Cleverly designed to resemble the print Yellow Pages of yesteryear and is packed with neat retro graphics, fun lists of phoned-in favorites, hidden literary references and other book-inspired surprises… An unbeatable gift for your favorite bookworm, this whimsical volume is a testament to the power of literature.” —BookPage

The Call Me Ishmael Phone Book is a book lover's rabbit hole: engaging, quirky and wholly seductive… Beware: it's easy to get sucked in.” —Shelf Awareness (starred review)


Product Details
ISBN: 9781982140588
ISBN-10: 1982140585
Publisher: Avid Reader Press / Simon & Schuster
Publication Date: October 13th, 2020
Pages: 224
Language: English

Audiobooks available!

Digital Audio Books

Get a Gift Card

Gift Cards

Nine Stores in Sonoma, Napa and Marin Counties

Petaluma Store

140 Kentucky Street
707-762-0563
click for hours & info



Petaluma 
Underground

140 Kentucky Street
707-782-0228
click for hours & info



Sebastopol Store

138 N.Main Street
707-823-2618
click for hours & info



Santa Rosa Store

(Montgomery Village)
775 Village Court
707-293-2109
707-578-8938
click for hours & info



Healdsburg Store

104 Matheson Street
707-433-9270
click for hours & info



Napa Store

1300 First Street, Suite 398
707-252-8002

click for hours & info



Calistoga Store

1330 Lincoln Street
707-942-1616
click for hours & info



San Rafael Store

850 4th Street
415-524-2800

click for hours & info



Novato Store

999 Grant Avenue
Suite 105
(415) 763-3052
click for hours & info



Larkspur Store
2419 Larkspur Landing Circle
(415) 870-9843
click for hours & info

Headquarters (Offices)

139 Edman Way 
Sebastopol
707-823-8991
click for hours & info