Sugaring Off (Hardcover)

Sugaring Off By Gillian French Cover Image
$17.99
On Our Shelves Now at Some of Our Stores
Sebastopol
On hand as of Feb 3 4:33am
(JUV YA NOVELS)
Calistoga
On hand as of Feb 3 4:33am
(JUV YA NOVELS)
Montgomery Village
On hand as of Feb 3 4:33am
(JUV YA NEW ARRIVALS)
Petaluma
On hand as of Feb 3 4:43am
(JUV YA NEW ARRIVALS)
Napa
On hand as of Feb 3 4:43am
(JUV YA NOVELS)
Healdsburg
On hand as of Feb 3 4:43am
(JUV YA NOVELS)
San Rafael
On hand as of Feb 3 4:43am
(JUV YA NOVELS)

Description


A dazzling and evocative novel about love and loss—with a dash of thrilling mystery—for fans of Mindy McGinnis and Courtney Summers. 

Owl has always been her freest self in the mountains, tracking, hiking, and exploring the steep forested acres of her aunt and uncle’s maple sugar farm. They never speak of the childhood tragedy that left her partially deaf and sent her father to jail. All Owl wants is to stay safe at the farm, her favorite place in the world, her refuge from those who would treat her differently. 

Owl’s sheltered existence is blown wide open by Cody—the magnetic, dangerous young man hired to help with the season’s sugaring off. Cody seems to see the real her, to look past her hearing loss in a way no one else does. Together, they find comfort in their similarities and exhilaration in their differences, and risk a romance their families are desperate to stop. 

But then Owl hears her father will be released from prison, and a seemingly motiveless murder shakes the foundations of her small town. When the crime draws all eyes to Cody, Owl realized he is in far more serious trouble than anyone knows—and it’s followed him to her mountain.

About the Author


Gillian French’s debut, Grit, was an Indie Next pick, a Junior Library Guild Selection, an Edgar Award finalist, and a South Carolina Young Adult Book Award finalist. It received both a 2018 Lupine Award from the Maine Library Association and a 2018 Maine Literary Award from the Maine Writers & Publishers Alliance, as well as starred reviews from Kirkus Reviews and Booklist. Her other novels include The Door to January (Bram Stoker Award finalist), The Lies They Tell (2019 International Thriller Award finalist, an Amazon Bestselling New Release in both print and audio editions, 2019 Maine Literary Award Winner, and 2018 Junior Library Guild Selection), and The Missing Season (2019 Junior Library Guild Selection and a starred review from Booklist). She lives in Maine with her husband and three young boys.
 

Praise For…


"As in French’s other books, she treats her working-class characters with compassion but not preciousness, with a third-person narration that shows the complications of small-town life without exploiting it for drama.”—The Bulletin of the Center for Children’s Books


Product Details
ISBN: 9781643752709
ISBN-10: 1643752707
Publisher: Algonquin Young Readers
Publication Date: November 1st, 2022
Pages: 352
Language: English

Audiobooks

Digital Audio Books

Get a Gift Card

Gift Cards

Nine Stores in Sonoma, Napa and Marin Counties

Petaluma Store

140 Kentucky Street
707-762-0563
click for hours & info



Petaluma 
Underground

140 Kentucky Street
707-782-0228
click for hours & info



Sebastopol Store

138 N.Main Street
707-823-2618
click for hours & info



Santa Rosa Store

(Montgomery Village)
775 Village Court
707-578-8938
click for hours & info



Healdsburg Store

104 Matheson Street
707-433-9270
click for hours & info



Napa Store

1300 First Street, Suite 398
707-252-8002

click for hours & info



Calistoga Store

1330 Lincoln Avenue
707-942-1616
click for hours & info



San Rafael Store

1200 4th Street
415-524-2800

click for hours & info



Novato Store

999 Grant Avenue
Suite 105
(415) 763-3052
click for hours & info



Larkspur Store
2419 Larkspur Landing Circle
(415) 870-9843
click for hours & info

Headquarters (Offices)

139 Edman Way 
Sebastopol
707-823-8991
click for hours & info