0 Items $0.00

How a Mountain Was Made: Stories (Hardcover)

How a Mountain Was Made: Stories Cover Image
$25.00
On Our Shelves Now
Sebastopol
On hand as of Feb 22 3:15am
(NEW HARDCOVER FICTION)
Calistoga
On hand as of Feb 22 3:15am
(NEW HARDCOVER FICTION)
Montgomery Village
On hand as of Feb 22 3:15am
(NEW HARDCOVER FICTION)
Petaluma
On hand as of Feb 22 3:16am
(NEW HARDCOVER FICTION)
Napa
On hand as of Feb 22 3:16am
(NEW HARDCOVER FICTION)
San Rafael
On hand as of Feb 22 3:16am
(NEW HARDCOVER FICTION)

Description


In the tradition of Calvino's Italian Folktales, Greg Sarris, author of the award-winning novel Grand Avenue, turns his attention to his ancestral homeland of Sonoma Mountain in Northern California. In sixteen interconnected original stories, the twin crows Question Woman and Answer Woman take us through a world unlike yet oddly reminiscent of our own: one which blooms bright with poppies, lupines, and clover; one in which Waterbug kidnaps an entire creek; in which songs have the power to enchant; in which Rain is a beautiful woman who keeps people's memories in stones. Inspired by traditional Coast Miwok and Southern Pomo creation tales, these stories are timeless in their wisdom and beauty, and because of this timelessness their messages are vital and immediate. The figures in these stories ponder the meaning of leadership, of their place within the landscape and their community. In these stories we find a model for how we can all come home again. At once ancient and contemporary, How a Mountain Was Made is equally at home in modern letters as the ancient story cycle. Sarris infuses his stories with a prose stylist's creativity and inventiveness, moving American Indian literature in a new and emergent direction.


Product Details
ISBN: 9781597144148
ISBN-10: 1597144142
Publisher: Heyday Books
Publication Date: October 10th, 2017
Pages: 312
Language: English

Nine Stores in Sonoma, Napa and Marin Counties

Petaluma Store

140 Kentucky Street
707-762-0563
click for hours & info



Petaluma 
Underground

140 Kentucky Street
707-782-0228
click for hours & info



Sebastopol Store

138 N.Main Street
707-823-2618
click for hours & info



Santa Rosa Store

(Montgomery Village)
775 Village Court
707-578-8938
click for hours & info



Healdsburg Store

106 Matheson Street
707-433-9270
click for hours & info



Napa Store

3740 Bel Aire Plaza
707-252-8002

click for hours & info



Calistoga Store

1330 Lincoln Street
707-942-1616
click for hours & info



San Rafael Store

850 4th Street
415-524-2800

click for hours & info



Novato Store

999 Grant Avenue
(415) 763-3052
click for hours & info



Larkspur Store
2419 Larkspur Landing Circle
(415) 870-9843
click for hours & info

Headquarters (Offices)

139 Edman Way 
Sebastopol
707-823-8991
click for hours & info