0 Items $0.00

Before They Were Authors: Famous Writers as Kids (Hardcover)

Before They Were Authors: Famous Writers as Kids Cover Image
$16.99
On Our Shelves Now at Some of Our Stores
Sebastopol
On hand as of Jun 24 2:45am
(JUV BIOGRAPHY)
Calistoga
On hand as of Jun 24 2:45am
(JUV BIOGRAPHY)
Montgomery Village
On hand as of Jun 24 2:45am
(JUV BIOGRAPHY)
Petaluma
On hand as of Jun 24 3:01am
(JUV BIOGRAPHY)
Napa
On hand as of Jun 24 3:01am
(JUV BIOGRAPHY)
Healdsburg
On hand as of Jun 24 3:01am
(JUV BIOGRAPHY)
San Rafael
On hand as of Jun 24 3:01am
(JUV BIOGRAPHY)

Description


This exciting debut in graphic novel format tells the childhood stories of literary legends including Maya Angelou, Roald Dahl, and Sandra Cisnernos. Perfect for fans of Good Night Stories for Rebel Girls and Brazen: Rebel Ladies Who Rocked the World.

What makes a writer?  What inspires them? Where do their stories come from? Striking illustrations and a popular graphic novel format bring to life this anthology of literary legends and their childhoods. Featuring beloved authors such as Maya Angelou, C.S. Lewis, Gene Luen Yang and J.K. Rowling, these stories capture the childhood triumphs, failures, and inspirations that predated their careers.

Children ages ten and up will see themselves in these humanized portraits and wonder if they, too, might have it in them to write. A celebration of creativity, this collective graphic biography is sprinkled throughout with writing wisdom and inspiring quotes.

About the Author


Elizabeth Haidle is the co-founder of Mascot Press, creating thought-provoking comics and animations. She has an incurable passion for illustrated biographies and low-maintenance gardening. Her first book, at age 13, was about a grumpy elf with a pet snail. Bill Peet is her favorite children's book author. She lives in Portland, Oregon.

www.DocuComix.com
Twitter: @ehaidle
Instagram: @ehaidle

Praise For…


"[A] pleasing design aesthetic, and myriad details invite prolonged perusing." —Publishers Weekly

"[F]ans of classic children’s literature will enjoy this reverential and playful volume."—Booklist


Product Details
ISBN: 9781328801531
ISBN-10: 1328801535
Publisher: HMH Books for Young Readers
Publication Date: May 14th, 2019
Pages: 64

Nine Stores in Sonoma, Napa and Marin Counties

Petaluma Store

140 Kentucky Street
707-762-0563
click for hours & info



Petaluma 
Underground

140 Kentucky Street
707-782-0228
click for hours & info



Sebastopol Store

138 N.Main Street
707-823-2618
click for hours & info



Santa Rosa Store

(Montgomery Village)
775 Village Court
707-578-8938
click for hours & info



Healdsburg Store

104 Matheson Street
707-433-9270
click for hours & info



Napa Store

3740 Bel Aire Plaza
707-252-8002

click for hours & info



Calistoga Store

1330 Lincoln Street
707-942-1616
click for hours & info



San Rafael Store

850 4th Street
415-524-2800

click for hours & info



Novato Store

999 Grant Avenue
(415) 763-3052
click for hours & info



Larkspur Store
2419 Larkspur Landing Circle
(415) 870-9843
click for hours & info

Headquarters (Offices)

139 Edman Way 
Sebastopol
707-823-8991
click for hours & info