Snappsy the Alligator (Did Not Ask to Be in This Book) (Hardcover)

Snappsy the Alligator (Did Not Ask to Be in This Book) Cover Image
By Julie Falatko, Tim J. Miller (Illustrator)
$16.99
Usually Ships in 1-5 Days

Description


Snappsy the alligator is having a normal day when a pesky narrator steps in to spice up the story. Is Snappsy reading a book ... or is he making CRAFTY plans? Is Snappsy on his way to the grocery store ... or is he PROWLING the forest for defenseless birds and fuzzy bunnies? Is Snappsy innocently shopping for a party ... or is he OBSESSED with snack foods that start with the letter P? What's the truth? 

Snappsy the Alligator (Did Not Ask to Be in This Book) is an irreverent look at storytelling, friendship, and creative differences, perfect for fans of Mo Willems.

About the Author


Julie Falatko loves, loves, loves to talk about books. She has a library science degree, is a frequent contributor to the Nerdy Book Club, was the picture book reviewer for the podcast Brain Burps About Books from 2011 to 2015, and she started a Little Free Library in front of her house to share books with neighbors. Julie lives in Maine with her husband, four children, and big-eared chiweenie dog. Snappsy the Alligator (Did Not Ask to Be in This Book) is her first book. To learn more about Julie, please visit http://juliefalatko.com/ or follow her on Twitter @juliefalatko.

Tim Miller is serious about being funny. He studied Cartooning at the School of Visual Arts and now works on picture books that are both playful and absurd. Tim lives in Queens with his cat who did not ask to be mentioned in this bio. To see more of his artwork, please visit timmillerillustration.com.

Praise For…


PRAISE FOR SNAPPSY THE ALLIGATOR (DID NOT ASK TO BE IN THIS BOOK)

"A charming, irreverent tale for independent-minded tots."
People Magazine

"This is the first book for both Falatko and Miller, and it’s an excellent one—Falatko’s writing nimbly zigs and zags around Miller’s bold, goofy cartoons." 
Publishers Weekly, STARRED REVIEW!

"More than merely meta, Snappsy is clearly a book, if not a protagonist, with bite." 
Kirkus Reviews, STARRED REVIEW! 

"Falatko’s debut picture book is atruly laugh-out-loud, mischievous romp, made gleefully goofier by Miller’s straight-laced, deadpan animalcharacters."
Booklist, STARRED REVIEW! 

"Filled with exploration-worthy detail… overdocumented youngsters may feel some sympathy for Snappsy, and audiences...will giggle at his battle with the overexcited narrator."
—BCCB, STARRED REVIEW!

"This clever debut will renew faith in the possibilities of fourth-wall breaking.”
The New York Times 

"A silly, clever introduction to the idea of the unreliable narrator.”
The Boston Globe 

"One of the funniest picture books of the year. . . . utterly irresistible." 
—BookPage

"Falatko’s debut book demonstrates the power of storytelling through words and pictures." 
School Library Journal

"Distinguished by Falatko’s ability to sustain the tension at length; by Miller’s savory palette... and by the unvoiced suggestion that when fiction is working well, a character can take on a life of his or her own." 
Horn Book Magazine

"This one goes to the top of the meta-heap. Snappsy the Alligator is a wonderful exploration of subjectivity... and a lot of fun."
—Shelf Awareness

"If a pesky narrator did THAT to ME, I'D bite 'em right on the—*AHEM* Great job with your creative conflict resolution, Snappsy!"
—Ame Dyckman, New York Times bestselling author of Wolfie the Bunny and Boy + Bot

"Adam Rex didn't ask to be on this book either. But despite being a mean man who generally dislikes debut authors he is a fan of Snappsy the Alligator."
—Adam Rex, New York Times bestselling author of Schools First Day of School

"Modern storytelling that never compromises, page after hilarious page." 
—Bob Shea, author of Ballet Cat


Product Details
ISBN: 9780451469458
ISBN-10: 0451469453
Publisher: Viking Books for Young Readers
Publication Date: February 2nd, 2016
Pages: 40
Language: English

Audiobooks available!

Digital Audio Books

Get a Gift Card

Gift Cards

CopperBox Book Subscription

CopperBox

Nine Stores in Sonoma, Napa and Marin Counties

Petaluma Store

140 Kentucky Street
707-762-0563
click for hours & info



Petaluma 
Underground

140 Kentucky Street
707-782-0228
click for hours & info



Sebastopol Store

138 N.Main Street
707-823-2618
click for hours & info



Santa Rosa Store

(Montgomery Village)
775 Village Court
707-293-2109
707-578-8938
click for hours & info



Healdsburg Store

104 Matheson Street
707-433-9270
click for hours & info



Napa Store

1300 First Street, Suite 398
707-252-8002

click for hours & info



Calistoga Store

1330 Lincoln Avenue
707-942-1616
click for hours & info



San Rafael Store

1200 4th Street
415-524-2800

click for hours & info



Novato Store

999 Grant Avenue
Suite 105
(415) 763-3052
click for hours & info



Larkspur Store
2419 Larkspur Landing Circle
(415) 870-9843
click for hours & info

Headquarters (Offices)

139 Edman Way 
Sebastopol
707-823-8991
click for hours & info