Speaking American: How Y’all, Youse, and You Guys Talk: A Visual Guide (Paperback)

Speaking American: How Y’all, Youse, and You Guys Talk: A Visual Guide Cover Image
$17.99
Available online. Call stores for local availability.
Sebastopol
On hand as of Dec 3 10:33am
(GENERAL REFERENCE)
Petaluma
On hand as of Dec 3 10:43am
(GENERAL REFERENCE)
Napa
On hand as of Dec 3 10:43am
(GENERAL REFERENCE)
San Rafael
On hand as of Dec 3 11:03am
(GENERAL REFERENCE)

Description


From the creator of the New York Times dialect quiz that ignited conversations about how and why we say the words we say, a stunning and delightful exploration of American language

Did you know that your answers to just a handful of questions can reveal where you grew up? In December 2013, Josh Katz released an interactive dialect quiz in the New York Times that became the most viewed page in the paper's history. Now a graphics editor, Katz harnessed the overwhelming response to that quiz to create Speaking American, an extraordinary and beautiful tour through the American vernacular.

How do you pronounce "pecan"? What do you call a long sandwich with varieties of meats and cheeses? Do you cut the grass or mow the lawn?

The answers to these questions—and the distinctions they reveal about who says what and where they say it—are not just the ultimate in cocktail party fodder; they are also windows into the history of our nation, our regions, and our language. On page after page, readers will be fascinated and charmed by these stunning maps of how Americans speak as they gain new insights into our language and ourselves. 

For fans of Eats, Shoots and Leaves and How the States Got Their Shapes, Speaking American is an irresistible feast of American regional speech.

About the Author


JOSH KATZ was born and raised in South Jersey, where he ate hoagies, wore sneakers, and celebrated Mischief Night. After graduating from the North Carolina State University Department of Statistics, he began work as a graphics editor with the New York Times,where his work has focused on finding patterns in data and turning them into stories. He lives in New York.


Product Details
ISBN: 9780358359937
ISBN-10: 0358359937
Publisher: Mariner Books
Publication Date: September 1st, 2020
Pages: 224
Language: English

Audiobooks available!

Digital Audio Books

Get a Gift Card

Gift Cards

CopperBox Book Subscription

CopperBox

Nine Stores in Sonoma, Napa and Marin Counties

Petaluma Store

140 Kentucky Street
707-762-0563
click for hours & info



Petaluma 
Underground

140 Kentucky Street
707-782-0228
click for hours & info



Sebastopol Store

138 N.Main Street
707-823-2618
click for hours & info



Santa Rosa Store

(Montgomery Village)
775 Village Court
707-293-2109
707-578-8938
click for hours & info



Healdsburg Store

104 Matheson Street
707-433-9270
click for hours & info



Napa Store

1300 First Street, Suite 398
707-252-8002

click for hours & info



Calistoga Store

1330 Lincoln Avenue
707-942-1616
click for hours & info



San Rafael Store

1200 4th Street
415-524-2800

click for hours & info



Novato Store

999 Grant Avenue
Suite 105
(415) 763-3052
click for hours & info



Larkspur Store
2419 Larkspur Landing Circle
(415) 870-9843
click for hours & info

Headquarters (Offices)

139 Edman Way 
Sebastopol
707-823-8991
click for hours & info