0 Items $0.00

Hate List (Paperback)

Hate List Cover Image
$11.99
On Our Shelves Now
Sebastopol
3 on hand, as of Dec 14 1:42am
(JUV YA NOVELS)
Petaluma
2 on hand, as of Dec 14 1:42am
(JUV YA NOVELS)
Napa
1 on hand, as of Dec 14 1:42am
(JUV YA NOVELS)
Healdsburg
2 on hand, as of Dec 14 1:42am
(JUV YA NOVELS)

Autumn 2009 Kids' Indie Next List


“After a school shooting perpetrated by her boyfriend, Valerie is all at once seen as a hero, a victim, and a co-conspirator. You will be swept up in the torrent of emotions felt by all of the characters, and, although the story sometimes will push you to the edge of your comfort zone, feeling Val's catharsis shows that even after the most violent of tragedies, good (or at least a semblance of normalcy) can blossom.”
— Lauren Schulte, Books & Company, Oconomowoc, WI

Description


For readers of Marieke Nijkamp's This Is Where It Ends, Hate List is a powerful and all-too-timely contemporary classic about the aftermath of a school shooting.

Five months ago, Valerie Leftman's boyfriend, Nick, opened fire on their school cafeteria. Shot trying to stop him, Valerie inadvertently saved the life of a classmate, but was implicated in the shootings because of the list she helped create. A list of people and things she and Nick hated. The list he used to pick his targets.

Now, after a summer of seclusion, Val is forced to confront her guilt as she returns to school to complete her senior year. Haunted by the memory of the boyfriend she still loves and navigating rocky relationships with her family, former friends, and the girl whose life she saved, Val must come to grips with her role in the tragedy that took place, in order to make amends and move on with her life.

Jennifer Brown's critically acclaimed novel now includes the bonus novella Say Something, another arresting Hate List story.

About the Author


Jennifer Brown writes and lives in the Kansas City, Missouri area with her family. She is the author of Hate List, Torn Away, Thousand Words, Perfect Escape, and Bitter End.

Praise For…


* "Startling, powerful, and poignant."
School Library Journal (starred review)


* "Riviting."—Publishers Weekly (starred review)


* "Spellbinding."—VOYA (starred review)


"A must read!"
Gail Giles, author of Right Behind You and What Happened to Cass McBride?


"Find the time to read Hate List; you'll love it."
Patrick Jones, author of Things Change and Nailed


Product Details
ISBN: 9780316556781
ISBN-10: 0316556785
Publisher: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers
Publication Date: April 4th, 2017
Pages: 528
Language: English

Nine Stores in Sonoma, Napa and Marin Counties

Petaluma Store

140 Kentucky Street
707-762-0563
click for hours & info



Petaluma 
Underground

140 Kentucky Street
707-782-0228
click for hours & info



Sebastopol Store

138 N.Main Street
707-823-2618
click for hours & info



Santa Rosa Store

(Montgomery Village)
775 Village Court
707-578-8938
click for hours & info



Healdsburg Store

106 Matheson Street
707-433-9270
click for hours & info



Napa Store

3740 Bel Aire Plaza
707-252-8002

click for hours & info



Calistoga Store

1330 Lincoln Street
707-942-1616
click for hours & info



San Rafael Store

850 4th Street
415-524-2800

click for hours & info



Novato Store

999 Grant Avenue
(415) 763-3052
click for hours & info



Larkspur Store
2419 Larkspur Landing Circle
(415) 870-9843
click for hours & info

Headquarters (Offices)

139 Edman Way 
Sebastopol
707-823-8991
click for hours & info