0 Items $0.00

Abner & Ian Get Right-Side Up (Hardcover)

Abner & Ian Get Right-Side Up Cover Image
By Dave Eggers, Laura Park (Illustrator)
$18.99
On Our Shelves Now at Some of Our Stores
Sebastopol
On hand as of Jun 15 3:01am
(JUV PICTURE BOOKS HC)
Calistoga
On hand as of Jun 15 3:01am
(JUV PICTURE BOOKS HC)
Montgomery Village
On hand as of Jun 15 3:01am
(JUV PICTURE BOOKS HC)
Petaluma
On hand as of Jun 15 3:01am
(JUV PICTURE BOOKS HC)
Napa
On hand as of Jun 15 3:30am
(JUV PICTURE BOOKS HC)
Healdsburg
On hand as of Jun 15 3:30am
(JUV PICTURE BOOKS HC)
San Rafael
On hand as of Jun 15 3:30am
(JUV PICTURE BOOKS HC)

Description


Abner and Ian are stuck sideways in this clever picture book created by a bestselling, acclaimed author and cartoonist--and perfect for fans of Elephant & Piggie and Press Here.

Abner and Ian are stuck sideways on the pages of their debut picture book. They can't start the story like this! Ian is trying to be brave, despite his dizziness and fear of heights. But don't worry, because Abner has a plan: Readers will shake and turn the book until they get right side up! Sounds easy, right? Think again, because the real solution may be the opposite of what you'd expect.

With the odd couple wit of Elephant & Piggie, the interactive appeal of Press Here, and a timeless charm all their own, Abner & Ian offer readers of all ages eighty pages of fast-paced fun with a surprising and rewarding twist.

About the Author


Dave Eggers is the award-winning and bestselling author of many books, including the National Book Award finalist A Hologram for the King, as well as books for younger readers including What Can a Citizen Do?, Her Right Foot, This Bridge Will Not Be Gray, and The Lifters. He is the founder of the independent publishing company McSweeney's and the nonprofit organization ScholarMatch, in addition to cofounding The International Congress of Youth Voices and 826 Valencia, which has inspired similar organizations worldwide. Eggers lives in Northern California.

Laura Park is a cartoonist and illustrator. Her work has appeared in the Best American Comics, The Anthology of Graphic Fiction, The Paris Review, and on Saveur.com. Park is also the illustrator for two middle-grade kids' book series written by James Patterson, Middle School and I Funny. She is a member of the jam comics collective Trubble Club. Park currently lives in Lanas, France.

Praise For…


An Amazon Best Book of the Month for Ages 3-5, May 2019


*"This comedic dilemma...will have children shouting at every shake of the book. Fans of Mo Willems' Elephant and Piggie or Melanie Watts' Scaredy Squirrel books will find the collaboration of Eggers and Park's work to be equally appealing. Shaking to cause a change makes it interactive in the same manner as Tullet's Press Here (Chronicle 2011) or Matheson's Tap the Magic Tree (Greenwillow Books 2016).—School Library Connection


* "Appealing."
School Library Connection, starred review


"A very funny read-aloud."—Kirkus Reviews


"Funny and sympathetic."—Publishers Weekly


"A mind changer for anyone who ever thought that reading was a sedate occupation.... Irresistible."—Booklist

"[An] amusing, interactive story."—School Library Journal


Product Details
ISBN: 9780316485869
ISBN-10: 0316485861
Publisher: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers
Publication Date: May 14th, 2019
Pages: 80

Nine Stores in Sonoma, Napa and Marin Counties

Petaluma Store

140 Kentucky Street
707-762-0563
click for hours & info



Petaluma 
Underground

140 Kentucky Street
707-782-0228
click for hours & info



Sebastopol Store

138 N.Main Street
707-823-2618
click for hours & info



Santa Rosa Store

(Montgomery Village)
775 Village Court
707-578-8938
click for hours & info



Healdsburg Store

104 Matheson Street
707-433-9270
click for hours & info



Napa Store

3740 Bel Aire Plaza
707-252-8002

click for hours & info



Calistoga Store

1330 Lincoln Street
707-942-1616
click for hours & info



San Rafael Store

850 4th Street
415-524-2800

click for hours & info



Novato Store

999 Grant Avenue
(415) 763-3052
click for hours & info



Larkspur Store
2419 Larkspur Landing Circle
(415) 870-9843
click for hours & info

Headquarters (Offices)

139 Edman Way 
Sebastopol
707-823-8991
click for hours & info