0 Items $0.00

The Boys in the Boat (Young Readers Adaptation): The True Story of an American Team's Epic Journey to Win Gold at the 1936 Olympics (Paperback)

The Boys in the Boat (Young Readers Adaptation): The True Story of an American Team's Epic Journey to Win Gold at the 1936 Olympics Cover Image
$10.99
On Our Shelves Now
Calistoga
1 on hand, as of Sep 20 7:40am
(JUV HISTORY)

Description


The #1 New York Times bestseller freshly adapted for the next generation, now with brand new content including an author Q&A and never-before-seen photographs

Inspiration for the PBS American Experience Documentary 'The Boys of '36'

 
For readers of Unbroken, out of the depths of the Great Depression comes the astonishing tale of nine working-class boys from the American West who at the 1936 Olympics showed the world what true grit really meant. With rowers who were the sons of loggers, shipyard workers, and farmers, the University of Washington’s eight-oar crew was never expected to defeat the elite East Coast teams, yet they did, going on to shock the world by challenging the German boat rowing for Adolf Hitler.
 
At the center of the tale is Joe Rantz, a teenager without family or prospects, whose personal quest captures the spirit of his generation—the generation that would prove in the coming years that the Nazis could not prevail over American determination and optimism.
 
This deeply emotional yet easily accessible young readers adaptation of the award-winning #1 New York Times bestseller features never-before-seen photographs, highly visual back matter, and an exclusive new introduction.

About the Author


Daniel James Brown is the author of two previous nonfiction books, The Indifferent Stars Above and Under a Flaming Sky, which was a finalist for a Barnes & Noble Discover Award. He has taught writing at San Jose State University and Stanford University. He lives outside Seattle.

Praise For…


Accolades for The Boys in the Boat (Young Readers Adaptation):

- New York Times bestseller
- #1 Pacific Northwest Bookseller Assocation bestseller

"The word teamwork, which can sound humdrum to kids in coaches' droning lectures, doesn't adequately describe the connection shared by the men in that boat in 1936. Illustrated with vintage photos, this moving book offers young people a vivid sense of that shared experience. A Depression-era story with timeless appeal." —Booklist, starred review

"Offering a model of masterful nonfiction writing, Brown expertly balances the leisurely pacing of the protagonists' back stories with the exciting race scenes, related with concrete nouns, lively verbs, and short sentences, selected and adapted for this edition by Mone. Many photographs, an easy-to-read timeline, and notes on "The Art of Rowing," complete with a diagram, add visual appeal. A fine companion to Laura Hillenbrand's Unbroken (2014), also about the 1936 Olympics and also adapted for young readers." —Kirkus

"Those seeking an inspiring true story or a great sports tale will be pleased with this stirring work." —School Library Journal

"It becomes almost impossible not to root for such a hardscrabble collection of underdogs as they exhibit hard work, sacrifice, teamwork, and loyalty at every stage of their collective journey to Berlin." —Horn Book

"With a lyrical flair, Brown tells the story of these men in a manner that intersperses the drama of the time period with the emotional and physical turmoil of their lives.  Young adult readers may not understand or even know about the desperation of the Depression, or what it was like at the genesis of Nazi Germany, but the tale of these persistent men, each with their own personal struggle, will entice readers of all ages." —VOYA

Accolades for the adult edition of The Boys in the Boat:
- #1 New York Times bestseller
- 2014 ABA Adult Nonfiction Book of the Year
- 2014 Washington State Book Award

"A suspenseful tale of triumph." —USA Today

"Evocative, cinematic prose." —Publishers Weekly

"This is Chariots of Fire with oars." —David Laskin, author of The Children's Blizzard

"A great and inspiring true story." —Nathaniel Philbrick, author of Mayflower

"A thrilling, heart-thumping tale." —Timothy Egan, author of The Worst Hard Time

"A robust, emotional snapshot of an era." —James Bradley, author of Flags of Our Fathers  


Product Details
ISBN: 9780147516855
ISBN-10: 0147516854
Publisher: Puffin Books
Publication Date: August 2nd, 2016
Pages: 256
Language: English

Eight Stores in Sonoma, Napa and Marin Counties

Petaluma Store

140 Kentucky Street
707-762-0563
click for hours & info


Petaluma Used & Rare

707-782-0228
click for hours & info


Santa Rosa Store

775 Village Court | 707-578-8938
click for hours & info


Sebastopol Store

138 N. Main Street
707-823-2618
click for hours & info


Novato Store

999 Grant Avenue
415-763-3052
click for hours & info


Healdsburg Store

106 Matheson Street
707-433-9270
click for hours & info



Napa Store

3740 Bel Aire Plaza
707-252-8002
click for hours & info



Calistoga Store

1330 Lincoln Street
707-942-1616
click for hours & info


San Rafael Store

850 4th Street
415-524-2800
click for hours & info